Tuesday, February 3, 2009

2009 Soca Monarch Competition

There will be no Adrian Dutchin at the 2009 Soca Monarch Competition. That's truly a loss for us and he is the reigning king and his winning song was truly a work of art - 100% Guyanese. Malo the runner up in 2008, and Monarch in 2007, is also not competing for the crown. The field look very weak this year. I expect Shelly G, Vanilla, Roger, B52 and Passion to make it to the finals.

The artists competing are:
1. Orlando Johashen (Bones) - Any How
2. Shellon Garraway (Shelly G) - Work It
3. Clinton Adolphus (Passion) -No Judge last yr "Me Alone"
4. Wilbur Levans (B52 and formerly Lil Man) - Circuit Overload
5. Roger Hassell (Brains) - Wine On Me
6. Melissa Roberts - (Vanilla) 2007 Road March Queen - Rude
7. Beverley Williams - (Little B) - Sharon’s Abuse
8. Abigail Best - Wine Pun De Bumper
9. Mark Batson - Festival Fever
10. Stephen Dunbar - Let Me Wine On You
11. Tomeeka Thomas - Wine and Shake
12. Euston Austin - It’s Party Time
13. Reflections Crew - Ghetto Loving
14. Fire Clann - Tsunami
15. Purrsonality - Wet

No comments: